On certain days, you just can’t help but need some good old-fashioned vegan munchies. The problem is that many vegans are unsure about what snacks are safe and vegan-friendly to eat, especially because many food labels are so confusing.
What you may not know though is many of the most popular snack brands that you can find in supermarkets are either completely vegan-friendly or make vegan-friendly alternatives to their usual candies
Some of your favorite vegan snacks were not designed with vegans in mind, but they are naturally free of dairy, eggs, and animal products, making them suitable for consumption by everyone.
In this list, we have rounded up the top 20 best vegan snacks to buy if you are craving something sweet, sour, or chewy.
Fill your cupboards with some of these tried-and-true, mouthwatering sweet treats that are listed below.
OUR TOP PICK
OUR TOP PICK
About five different kinds of sugar are combined to make this snack, which may curb your sweet craving. They are also very nice to chew on if you are looking for a chewy sweet.
Sugar is completely free of any animal byproducts, meaning that this is an excellent sweet for vegans to eat. for vegans.
Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos
This zestier, dairy-free variant of Doritos is ideal for eating by the plant-based crowd, as well as anybody else who likes spicy sweetness.
While the more common Doritos varieties Cool Ranch and Nacho Cheese include whey (which is an animal byproduct) this type of Doritos is suitable for vegans to eat as this is not included in the ingredients.
Corn, corn oil, and salt are the sole components of the Original Fritos recipe, which is a pleasantly low amount of ingredients for snack food.
This snack is very popular due to its saltiness. Once you start eating these chips, you might not be able to stop because they’re so irresistible!
While the Original Fritos chips do not contain animal products, you need to be wary of other types of Fritos, particularly those that carry the words “natural flavorings” in the list of ingredients.
Natural flavorings is a very loose term for ingredients and could mean ingredients taken from either plants or animal byproducts, meaning that they may or may not be safe for vegans to eat. It is best to avoid them just in case.
Lay’s Classic Potato Chips
Vegans have reason to celebrate since they can now safely eat this very popular and salty snack. Sadly you will not get a lot of variety in flavor if you eat Lay’s chips. While Lay’s seems to make an endless amount of flavors, from BBQ to Salt & Vinegar.
If you are following a vegan diet, the only flavor that is safe for you to eat is the Original as every other one contains animal byproducts.
Maple Bacon Kettle Chips
You might be wondering how these chips can be vegan given that their name includes the word “bacon.” It is simple though, as to get the maple bacon flavor paprika, salt, and smoky flavorings are used.
While the chip bag very obviously states that “natural flavors” are included, and this is typically a bit suspicious for vegans, PETA themselves have come out in support of this chip flavor, saying that it is safe for vegans to eat.
Nutter Butter Cookies
These cookies are grainy, sweet, and salty, and they don’t taste like peanut butter, but they are still pretty tasty, and more importantly, are safe for vegans to eat.
Although they have a flavor that is reminiscent of creamy butter, these Ritz crackers surprisingly contain no butter at all. They go wonderfully with inexpensive meats and cheeses or toppings that are suitable for vegans, such as peanut butter and Bac’n Pieces.
Swedish Fish, often known as “the underestimated candy of champions,” is one of the few options available to hungry vegans who are seeking snacks that do not include gelatin.
Many chewy sweets contain gelatin, which is derived from animal products, to give them their characteristic chewy flavor. If you want this experience but are following a vegan diet, then these Swedish Fish are the way to go!
Unfrosted Pop-Tarts, namely the unfrosted strawberry, blueberry, and brown sugar-cinnamon types, can be a vegan’s greatest friend if they are purchased in the appropriate flavor.
When there is no frosting on the pastry, you can enjoy it for what it is, which is a very wonderful, flaky-ish morning delight that is completely vegan-friendly.
The reason why you cannot eat the frosted version of Pop-Tarts if you are following a vegan diet is that the frosting contains milk, which is pretty surprising for a snack that’s filled with artificial flavors.
It is a miracle of modern culinary technology that these brilliantly crimson granules, which impart a bacon-like smokiness to anything they are sprinkled over, do not include any animal by-products. Whether you add it to foods or sprinkle the pieces straight onto your tongue, these make an excellent snack.
Famous Amos Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies
These peanut butter-filled sweets are equally as delicious as Amos’ chocolate chip cookies, which are more well-known but contain animal products.
This is a pretty substantial snack as each cookie sandwich is formed from two cookies with a thick swipe of peanut butter in the center. Whether or not you follow a vegan diet, these cookies are a snack that everyone will love.
Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
Despite a trust hiccup that occurred a short while ago when the company suddenly added a note to its packaging that read “contains milk,” these alternatives to Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are the darlings of health-food fanatics.
If you were nervous about trying this snack because you weren’t sure if they were safe, we guarantee that Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups are vegan-friendly.
Lindt Chocolate Bars
Being vegan doesn’t require you to give up chocolate completely. That is something that should never, ever be demanded of anyone.
Lindt has created a bar with 70% cacao that may satisfy your needs for chocolate even though it does not include any goods derived from animals.
When you reach below 60% cacao, though, things start to become more complicated, so it’s best to stick to the darker varieties.
Sara Lee/Marie Callender’s Frozen Pies
People who don’t like eating animals in any form, but who want warm fruit in a flaky crust will love this dessert! Make should make sure to read the ingredient list again just in case, but there are a few tastes, including the much-loved apple, that are fantastic options for vegan people.
Even though twisting the cookie and dunking it in milk is the most common way to enjoy one of these delectable treats (there’s a reason they’re marketed as “Milk’s Favorite Cookie”).
The delicious cookie with the crème filling does not contain any dairy ingredients, making them safe for vegans to eat.
Sour Patch Kids
When you go to the movies as a vegan, you may be wondering what is safe to eat, given that M7Ms and big trays of nachos with jarringly fluorescent yellow cheese dip aren’t suitable for you. However, if there’s one candy you can count on, it’s Sour Patch Kids.
These sweets do not include any gelatin, but they are nonetheless covered in a sufficient amount of sour granules to leave your tongue feeling all tingly. For those who love sour candies, this is the perfect option for you!
No matter how you choose to indulge in this holiday classic—one sleeve at a time, or straight from the freezer—you can take comfort in the fact that no animals were injured in the production of these delightfully chocolaty and minty treats.
Also, take notice that some variations of Peanut Butter Patties and Lemonades are vegan, provided that they originate from ABC Bakers and are labeled as such.
Hippeas Vegan White Cheddar Chickpea Puffs
Your inner hippy can finally be pleased thanks to these organic chickpea puffs. While the original flavor is very delicious, if you feel like you need more small puffs in your life, you should try the Bohemian Barbecue and Far Out Fajita variations of these snacks.
Angie’s BOOMCHICKAPOP Sweet & Salty Kettle Corn
This popcorn is the perfect addition to any movie night, and once you try a few of these, you’ll want to keep eating until the whole bag is gone.
All of the variations of Angie’s popcorn are mouthwatering, and each is also completely vegan. So whether you want to try the Chile Lime, Salted Caramel, Sweet Barbeque, Sweet and Spicy, Light, or Sea Salt flavor of this snack, you know that you can safely eat them all when following a vegan diet.
Ben & Jerry’s Non-Dairy Peanut Butter Half Baked
The problem with ice cream is that it is almost always made from milk, meaning that vegans are missing out on this classic snack or dessert.
This won’t be an issue if you buy from Ben & Jerry’s though, as the brand has several vegan-friendly options for you to try. These include Peanut Butter Half Baked, Coconut Seven Layer Bar, and Cherry Garcia to name just a few.
If you are following a vegan diet and don’t know where to start with snacks, then try anyone from the list above the next time you are looking for a sweet treat or a quick bite to eat!