Are Rice Krispies Vegan?

Are Rice Krispies Vegan

There are some breakfast cereals that simply cannot be beaten. While new and innovative cereals may come and go, there are certain classic flavors that simply cannot be replaced.

They have existed for many years, and they will continue to be popular for many years to come. Rice Krispies are one of these breakfast cereals. 

The snap, crackle and pop of Kellogg’s Rice Krispies is utterly unique, and that is what has ensured that this breakfast cereal has remained popular for many years.

Rice Krispies may not be the most exciting cereal out there, but they are yummy and reliable which is why so many people love them. 

But are Rice Krispies vegan? Well, that is a very good question. In this guide, we’ll be exploring just that. So if you want to find out more, keep on reading! 

What Are Rice Krispies?

First up, let’s take a look at what Rice Krispies are. Well, unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ll be familiar with Rice Krispies.

Rice Krispies are a popular type of breakfast cereal that were created by cereal giant Kellogg’s. 

While they are still immensely popular today, Rice Krispies actually first entered the market way back in 1927.

They have a rich history and have come a long way since they first entered the US market back in the 1920s. Rice Krispies are now enjoyed all over the world, and not only in cereal form. 

There are all sorts of sweet treats that can be created using Rice Krispies. They are very versatile.

So no matter whether you are enjoying them simply in a bowl with milk, or mixed with melted chocolate or marshmallows, we’re sure you will love Rice Krispies. 

As Rice Krispies are essentially crisped rice, it is easy to assume that this type of cereal is suitable for those following a vegan diet. But is this actually the case? Let’s find out.

Are Rice Krispies Vegan?

Well, this may come as a big surprise to you. But Rice Krispies actually aren’t suitable for those following a vegan diet.

Rice Krispies are made using a wide range of ingredients, and unfortunately not all of these ingredients are suitable for those following a vegan diet. 

By simply looking at Rice Krispies, it is difficult to imagine how there are so many different ingredients used in this breakfast cereal. After all, Rice Krispies look like one of the most simple breakfast cereals out there. 

In reality, there are more than 12 ingredients included in the creation of Rice Krispies. Quite a lot of these ingredients are suitable for those following a vegan diet, including rice, sugar, and salt.

However, Rice Krispies also contain a number of different vitamins, and it is actually these vitamins that prevent Rice Krispies from being suitable for vegans.

So, with that in mind, let’s take a look at the ingredients that prevent Rice Krispies from being vegan-friendly. 

Ingredients That Prevent Rice Krispies From Being Vegan

Ingredients That Prevent Rice Krispies From Being Vegan

There are a number of different vitamins used in the production of Rice Krispies.

While most of these vitamins are perfectly fine for vegans to consume, there is one specific vitamin that stops them from being vegan-friendly. That vitamin is Vitamin D3. 

Vitamin D3

Vitamin D is commonly added to breakfast cereals. Breakfast cereals are designed to be eaten first thing in the morning and they are consumed by both children and adults alike.

Most vitamins are added to promote health. Vitamin D in particular is added to help control the amount of calcium and phosphate in your body. 

Vitamin D is not an issue for vegans. Specifically, it is the use of Vitamin D3 that makes Rice Krispies unsuitable for vegans. This is because Vitamin D3 is sourced from animals. Specifically, it is sourced from lanolin. 

Lanolin is an oil which is found in the fur of sheep. It is the oil that keeps a sheep’s fur waterproof, ensuring they remain dry in wet weather.

Natural Vitamin D and synthetic Vitamin D are both commonly sourced from lanolin, making them unsuitable for vegans. 

Unfortunately, due to the presence of this Vitamin, Rice Krispies are not vegan-friendly. 

Summary

In short, no Rice Krispies are not vegan. While the majority of the ingredients used in Rice Krispies are suitable for vegans, they also contain Vitamin D3. 

Vitamin D3 is sourced from sheep wool, making it an animal byproduct. So the presence of this Vitamin makes Rice Krispies unsuitable for vegans. 

Thanks for reading!

Brandon White
Latest posts by Brandon White (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *