Is Laffy Taffy Vegan?

Is Laffy Taffy Vegan

Although initially advertised as flavored caramel, Laffy Taffy is a well-known brand of taffy that was first made in the 1970s. The so-called “caramels” were actually squares of fruit-flavored taffy.

The candies come in a wide range of artificial fruit flavors and often come in small, bite-sized pieces.

Many grew up eating these candies, but if you’ve switched to a plant-based diet and want to know if you can continue to do so, then you’ve come to the right place.

In this article, we’ll discuss whether or not Laffy Taffy is vegan, including all the candy’s specific types and flavors.

Is It Vegan?

The Stretchy and Tangy range of products is always non-vegan due to the inclusion of egg albumin, a protein that is rich in egg whites.

In comparison, the original Laffy Taffy and Laffy Taffy Ropes are vegan.

Vegan Laffy Taffy Flavors And Types

Grape

These contain salt, soy lecithin, natural flavor, corn syrup, palm oil, malic acid, mono- and diglycerides, hydrogenated plant oils, sugar, Blue 1 and Red 40 artificial colors, and hydrogenated plant oils.

These substances, however, can be obtained from both plants and animals and are typically completely vegan-friendly.

Because of this, most people do not consider foods containing the products to be non-vegan.

However, if you’re an especially cautious vegan, you might want to stay away from it.

Because they aid in the emulsification of components (i.e., the blending of fat and water) and act as surfactants, which makes candy easier to handle, they are widely used in processed foods.

Strawberry

Sugar, corn syrup, palm oil, mono- and diglycerides, hydrogenated cottonseed oil, soy lecithin, salt, Red 40, and natural flavor are some of the ingredients in these.

Red 40, often known as Allura Red, is an azo dye, making it suitable for vegans. Due to the similarity in color and name, it is frequently mistaken for Red 4.

Red 4 (also known as carmine), in contrast to Red 40, is a food dye made from beetles and is hence largely regarded as non-vegan.

Not all vegans want to stay away from items made from insects, like carmine. But fortunately, it doesn’t apply to this specific sweet treat.

Cherry

Although they have different natural flavors, these appear to be the same as the strawberry variety.

Corn syrup, sugar, malic acid, mono- and diglycerides, palm oil, cottonseed oil that has been hydrogenated, natural flavor, salt, soy lecithin, and Red 40 are all ingredients in them.

So there is also no carmine here.

Blue Raspberry

These include Blue 1, corn syrup, sugar, malic acid, mono- and diglycerides, hydrogenated cottonseed oil, soy lecithin, palm oil, mono- and diglycerides, salt, and natural flavor.

The vegan community has strong feelings about the ingredient palm oil. A lot of vegans prefer to stay away from it because of the negative consequences of its production.

Despite being a contentious component in this candy, palm oil doesn’t necessarily make a food non-vegan by most definitions.

Sour Apple

Corn syrup, sugar, palm oil, malic acid, mono- and diglycerides, hydrogenated plant oils (including cottonseed), salt, soy lecithin, natural flavor, Blue 1, and Yellow 5 are all ingredients in this product.

A typical synthetic organic molecule called Blue 1, also known as Brilliant Blue FCF, is used as a blue color in processed foods, pharmaceuticals, dietary supplements, and cosmetics.

Although it is not an azo dye, because it is chemically produced without the use of animal-derived precursors, it is vegan.

Banana

Corn syrup, sugar, hydrogenated cottonseed oil, palm oil, mono- and diglycerides, salt, soy lecithin, Yellow 5, and natural flavor are all ingredients in these.

Although Laffy Taffy claims to use only natural food colors, they do not.

But tartrazine, often known as Yellows 5, belongs to the group of azo dyes, therefore, it is always regarded as vegan.

Laffy Taffy Ropes

These are essentially created from the same components; however, instead of being cut into small squares, they are shaped into long, thin ropes.

So, again, this makes these candies a vegan-friendly product.

Non-Vegan Laffy Taffy

Interestingly, this time, it’s not chocolate. Although they are difficult to find in supermarkets, chocolate Laffy Taffys are entirely vegan-friendly.

In this instance, egg albumin is present in the Stretchy and Tangy varieties only.

Extracted from egg whites for use in food, albumin is the protein component.

Albumin is a common aerator that helps to the chewy texture of various candies, much as the non-vegan ingredient gelatin.

Therefore, anything containing albumin will never be vegan.

Final Word

Fortunately, the majority of Laffy Taffy products are vegan-friendly. As a vegan, you are free to enjoy this tasty treat.

https://youtu.be/Kp4lHFVc_FA
Brandon White
Latest posts by Brandon White (see all)