Is Nutella Vegan?

Is Nutella Vegan

Nutella was launched way back in 1964, but since the early 2000s, this chocolate spread has had a resurgence in popularity all over the world.

From those who enjoy Nutella on their toast in the morning to those who would prefer it smothered on a waffle and covered in chocolate, this spread is incredibly versatile. But is it vegan?

Well as Nutella is mainly associated with dark chocolate and nuts, it is easy to assume that it would be vegan.

However, the answer isn’t actually that simple, and unfortunately, Nutella isn’t actually suitable for those following a vegan diet. 

In this guide, we’ll be taking a look at what prevents Nutella from being suitable for vegans. So, if you want to find out more, keep on reading!

What Is Nutella?

First things first, let’s take a look at what Nutella is. As we have established, Nutella is a type of spread. Specifically, it is a brand of sweetened hazelnut cocoa spread that was first introduced to the market in 1964.

The original brand of Nutella was created by the company Ferrero, but since then a huge array of hazelnut spreads have entered the market. 

Nutella has become so popular because it is a very versatile treat.

You can enjoy Nutella on your toast in the morning, you can add it to a homemade cheesecake, or you can simply spread it on some biscuits for an easy treat.

Nutella has a unique flavor that tastes great no matter how it is served.

While Nutella isn’t the healthiest treat out there, it is high in fiber. So even if it isn’t that nutritious, it can help keep your cholesterol levels down and even reduce the risk of heart disease.

It also contains a healthy amount of calcium which can help to promote bone strength. But unfortunately it isn’t vegan, here’s why.

Is Nutella Vegan?

By simply looking at Nutella, and even by tasting it, it is easy to assume that this sweet treat is vegan. However, as we have already established, unfortunately this spread isn’t suitable for those following a vegan diet. 

From the reputation that Nutella has made for itself, and the brand that has been sold, you would assume that the key ingredients in this spread are hazelnuts and dark chocolate, but this isn’t the case.

In fact, the key ingredients in Nutella are actually sugar and palm oil. 

While the key ingredients in Nutella may come as a surprise to you, it isn’t actually either of these ingredients that prevent this spread from being suitable for vegans.

So, let’s take a look at the ingredients in Nutella that stop it from being suitable for vegans. 

Ingredients that Prevent Nutella From Being Vegan

Ingredients that Prevent Nutella From Being Vegan

According to the Nutella website, there actually aren’t that many ingredients in this spread. The ingredients list includes: palm oil, sugar, cocoa, hazelnuts, skimmed milk, vanillin and lecithins.

Of these ingredients, there is only one that is a complete no-go for vegans, and that is skimmed milk.

Skimmed Milk

While Nutella may look and taste like it is made using dark chocolate, this isn’t the case.

Skimmed milk is used in the process of making Nutella, and unfortunately this ingredient makes Nutella unsuitable for those following a vegan diet. 

Those who follow a vegan diet do not consume any animal byproducts. This not only includes products such as meat and fish, but it also includes products that come from these animals.

So things such as cheese, milk, and even honey will not be suitable for vegans. 

As a result, the skimmed milk in Nutella makes it unsuitable for those following a vegan diet. However, it is safe for those who follow a vegetarian diet.

Palm Oil

Palm oil isn’t an animal byproduct, and it isn’t something that all vegans avoid. However, a lot of people who follow a vegan diet in order to support the environment often abstain from palm oil consumption.

Palm oil is technically vegan, however it is associated with huge damage to the environment and many species of animals too.

A lot of people, even those who aren’t vegan, avoid palm oil due to the damage that it is doing to the world we live in. So some vegans may choose to avoid Nutella due to it containing palm oil. 

Summary

In short, no, Nutella is not vegan. While this chocolate spread is often associated with dark chocolate and hazelnuts, it actually contains skimmed milk. This makes it unsuitable for those following a vegan diet. 

Thanks for reading!

Brandon White
Latest posts by Brandon White (see all)