Is Sprite Vegan?

Is Sprite Vegan

When you follow a vegan diet, it is not only food that you need to be careful about consuming, but drinks too.

It is easy to assume that certain drinks will not contain animal byproducts, but this isn’t always the case.

Aside from the obvious animal-based ingredients that you might find in drinks, such as milk, there are a number of other ingredients that actually come from animal sources.

From artificial flavorings to vitamins, there are lots of things that could prevent a drink from being vegan-friendly.

In this guide, we’re focusing on Sprite to find out if this drink is suitable for those following a vegan diet.

So if you are a vegan who loves lemon-flavored drinks, keep on reading!

What Is Sprite?

First things first, let’s quickly take a look at what Sprite is. Well as we have just mentioned, Sprite is a lemon-flavored soft drink.

It is easily one of the most famous and popular brands of lemonade out there, and it is enjoyed by people all over the world. 

Just like one of the other most famous lemonade brands out there, 7Up, Sprite is easily-recognizable through its green packaging.

For many years, the bottles and cans that Sprite is sold in have been green, despite the liquid inside being clear. 

Despite being marketed as lemonade, Sprite is actually a lemon and lime flavored drink. However, like many other soft drink brands, Sprite also comes in a variety of other infused flavors.

These include cherry, grape, ginger, and vanilla. But is Sprite vegan? Let’s find out. 

Is Sprite Vegan?

Is Sprite Vegan?

Despite being its own brand, Sprite is actually manufactured and produced by the Coca-Cola Company.

If you have already checked out our guide on “is Coke vegan?”, then you will be aware that the vast majority of the products produced by the Coca-Cola company are vegan.

But is Sprite one of them?

Well according to the Coca-Cola website, it would appear that Sprite is one of the many drinks that they produce which are suitable for vegans. Coca-Cola claims that no animal-based products are used in the production of these drinks, however, there are a couple of ingredients that could cause some uncertainty for vegans. 

It seems that not only is the base mixture of Sprite vegan, but so are the different variations of these products.

There are no real ingredients of note in any of the following variations of Sprite, so it is safe to assume that they are vegan:

  • Sprite
  • Sprite Zero Sugar
  • Sprite Cherry
  • Sprite Cherry Zero Sugar
  • Sprite Cranberry
  • Sprite Cranberry Zero Sugar
  • Sprite Tropical Mix
  • Sprite “Lymonade”

While there are no ingredients in the manufacturing process of Sprite that cause concern, it is worth noting that they are owned by a large multinational company that supports the exploitation of animals.

So even though Sprite doesn’t include any animal-based ingredients as far as we can see, some vegans will avoid this product simply due to its association with the Coca-Cola company. 

What Ingredients Are In Sprite?

As we have said, the Coca-Cola company that produces Sprite has claimed that the majority of their products are suitable for consumption by vegans.

According to Coca-Cola, there are just a handful of their products that are unsuitable for vegans, they include: Lilt, Lilt Zero, Schweppes Orange Squash, and Kia-Ora Orange Squash No Sugar.

However, there are some people who are skeptical about Coca-Cola’s vegan claims.

This is primarily because there are some ingredients listed in the ingredients list of their products that could potentially include animal-based products.

These primarily include flavorings and colorings. 

According to Coca-Cola, the ingredients list of Sprite is as follows:

  • Carbonated water
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Citric acid
  • Natural fruit flavor enhancers
  • Sodium citrate
  • Sodium benzoate (to protect taste)

Looking at this list, there is nothing of note in the ingredients list of Sprite that would suggest that it is not suitable for vegans.

So in this case, it is safe to assume that Coca-Cola is telling the truth. However, this isn’t the case for all their products.

Especially products that contain artificial flavorings rather than natural ones. 

Summary

In conclusion, according to the Coca-Cola company, it would appear that Sprite is suitable for those following a vegan diet.

Looking at the ingredients list, there is nothing that seems alarming, and it also isn’t listed among the products that Coca-Cola produces which are not suitable for vegans. 

Of course, there are some ethical debates surrounding Coca-Cola’s exploitation of animals for entertainment. But purely from an ingredients perspective, it seems that Sprite is suitable for vegans.

Brandon White
Latest posts by Brandon White (see all)