Are Pringles Vegan?

Are Pringles Vegan?

Of all the different varieties of chips that exist, there is no denying that Pringles are part of the elite tier.

Nothing can beat the crunch of a Pringle when you bite into it, the wide variety of flavors that they have on offer and the satisfaction of opening a new tube. 

You know what they say about Pringles – once you pop, you just can’t stop! So, before you pop, you should probably find out if Pringles are vegan. 

Ultimately, whether, or not, Pringles are vegan will depend on the specific flavor of Pringles you are interested in. However, there are plenty of vegan options out there for you. 

In this guide, we’ll be answering the question “are Pringles vegan?”, and taking a look at which Pringles are vegan and which are not. So keep on reading to find out more! 

What Are Pringles?

Well just in case you’ve been living under a rock, let’s kick this off by taking a look at what Pringles are. As we have established, Pringles are a type of chip that are sold in long tubes.

They are stackable potato chips that are available in a wide variety of flavors, and are famous for being incredibly moreish. 

Even though there are a wide range of flavors available, all Pringle chips start with the same base ingredients. These ingredients include: 

  • Dehydrated Potatoes
  • Vegetable Oils (Sunflower, Palm, Corn) in varying proportions
  • Wheat Flour
  • Corn Flour
  • Rice Flour
  • Maltodextrin
  • Emulsifier (E471)
  • Salt
  • Color (Annatto Norbixin)

Every flavor of Pringles will begin with these same basic ingredients, from there additional flavors will be added to achieve the desired flavor.

The ingredients used to achieve these flavors is what prevents some types of Pringles from being vegan-friendly. We will take a look at these ingredients more specifically shortly. 

Are Pringles Vegan?

So, as we have just established, the base ingredients used to create Pringle chips are suitable for those following a vegan diet.

There are a variety of different ingredients used in Pringles, but none of the base ingredients are animal-based. 

Some Pringles are suitable for those following a vegan diet while others are not.

Ultimately, whether, or not Pringles are vegan depends on the flavor and the ingredients that are used to achieve this flavor.

Not all flavorings will include animal-based ingredients, but some will for obvious reasons. So to help you out, we’ll take a look at some of the Pringles that are vegan, and some that are not. 

But before we do, we need to briefly talk about the presence of Palm Oil in Pringles.

While Palm Oil isn’t an animal-based product, it is something that an increasing number of people, particularly those who are vegan, are trying to avoid using. 

Palm Oil is widely believed to be damaging the health of our planet, and this is a big reason why many vegans are avoiding using Palm Oil.

Many people choose to go vegan to help the planet. So for some vegans, the presence of Palm Oil in Pringles will prevent them from eating them.

However, Palm Oil is not an animal-based product, so technically it doesn’t prevent Pringles from being vegan.

Are Pringles Vegan?

Pringles That Are Vegan

If you are a vegan, and you fancy your Pringles fix, then you will be happy to know that there are a lot of Pringles flavors that are vegan.

Generally, whether, or not, a flavor is vegan will be clearly stated on the packaging. But here are just a handful of the Pringle flavors that are vegan-friendly. 

Original

Original Pringles are arguably the best flavor of Pringles that exist, and they are totally suitable for vegans.

Original Pringles solely consist of the base Pringle ingredients that we mentioned earlier, and this is because their only flavoring is salt. 

If you want a safe bet when it comes to vegan-friendly Pringles, Original Pringles are the flavor that we would always recommend choosing!

Paprika

Another safe option to choose is Paprika Pringles. Paprika Pringles do not have a complicated ingredients list, as the name suggests they are simply flavored with Paprika. 

So, in addition to the base ingredients that we discussed earlier, you will find Paprika on the ingredients list for these Pringles. Paprika is vegan-friendly, meaning these Pringles are too! 

Texas BBQ

Texas BBQ is definitely up there with the best flavors of Pringles ever invented, and it is actually a flavor that is suitable for vegans. 

While giving off BBQ vibes, this flavor is achieved without using any animal byproducts. So, if you are vegan, you can happily tuck into some Texas BBQ Pringles. 

Smokey Bacon

A lot of people who follow a vegan diet actually miss the flavor of meat, particularly the flavor of bacon.

If you are one of these people, then Pringles have you covered because their Smokey Bacon flavor actually contains zero animal products. 

Somehow, the company has managed to achieve this meaty flavor without including any animal products at all.

So you can safely enjoy Smokey Bacon Pringles while following a vegan diet. 

Pringles That Are Not Vegan

However, as we mentioned earlier, not all Pringles are vegan. So, let’s take a look at some of the most notable Pringle flavors that are not vegan. 

Cheddar Cheese

For obvious reasons, Cheddar Cheese Pringles, and any variations of Pringles that are cheese-flavored are not suitable for vegans. 

Honey Mustard

These Pringles not only include honey, but lactose too, making them unsuitable for those following a vegan diet. 

Salt And Vinegar

Surprisingly, this popular flavor of Pringles is unsuitable for those following a vegan diet due to the presence of lactose in the recipe. 

Jalapeño

These spicy Pringles are not suitable for those following a vegan diet due to the presence of whey in their ingredients.

Summary

In short, some Pringles are vegan while others are not. Ultimately, whether, or not, Pringles are vegan will depend on the specific flavor that you are looking at.

We have taken a look at some of the most popular in this guide. 

Thanks for reading!

https://youtu.be/8oKhK8GnsXg
Brandon White
Latest posts by Brandon White (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *