Top 20 Vegan Candy Options To Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth

Top 20 Vegan Candy Options To Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth

Who doesn’t love some candy as a sweet treat every now and then? No matter who you are or what diet you follow, candy is one of those foods that everyone enjoys. But for vegans, finding candy that fits your diet can be very hard. 

The confectionery aisle is hardly the most vegan-friendly section of the supermarket. Most chocolate goods contain whey or milk, gummies often contain gelatin, (skin, animal bones, and tendons) and many bright red candies get their distinctive color from carmine, a pigment made from crushed insects. 

So what’s a vegan with a sweet tooth supposed to do? Luckily, as veganism has grown, so have the options in the supermarket as stores begin to see the potential in serving this customer base. 

With more and more vegan candies benign created, choosing just one or two options out of the many can be very hard. That is why we have made this list of the top 20 vegan candy snacks that you should try the next time that you are craving something sweet! Here are twenty vegan-friendly sweets to fulfill your sweet desire without harming any animals.

OUR TOP PICK

Fun Dip

EDITORS CHOICE

Skittles

BEST VALUE

Dots

OUR TOP PICK

Fun Dip

If you want a sweet to give a hit of nostalgia as well as sugar, then Fun Dip is perfect for you! Being able to cover your dipping sticks in those sour powders was a lot of fun when you were younger, and it can be just as much fun and fulfilling now that you’re an adult, especially since these powders are entirely safe for vegans to use.

EDITORS CHOICE

Skittles

This might be a shock to some people, but Skittles, one of the most well-liked candies available, does not contain any animal products. 

This was not always the case as Skittles used to contain gelatin, which is why you may have never been able to eat these when you were younger. But now these tasty treats can be enjoyed by everyone!

But what about all the other Skittles flavors? Whether you want to try wild berry, tropical, or sour Skittles, you can indulge to your heart’s content as they are all vegan!

BEST VALUE

Dots

It is difficult to imagine that the bright gumdrop candy known as Dots, which has been in existence since 1945, is vegan. Like with Skittles, all of the various Dots flavors are vegan as well, including their sour and tropical flavors. 

RUNNER UP

Jujubes

Jujubes have been popular for many years now. It wasn’t until 1920 that the inadvertently vegan candy made its debut in the United States, and over a century later, it’s still available for purchase and enjoy. If you haven’t tried the fruit-flavored sweets that are chewy yet, now is the perfect time!

RUNNER UP

Now And Later

If you want something a bit chewy and taffy-like, then you should give Now and Later a try. This unique sweet is vegan, but sadly only in the Original Mix version. 

All the other options, including the Shell Shocked mix, Chewy Original Mix, Splits, and Extreme Sour includes components such as egg whites and gelatin in their mixtures, so these need to be avoided if you are following a vegan diet. 

RUNNER UP

Smarties

The candy Smarties, which has been manufactured since the 1940s, does not include any ingredients derived from animals. 

This is something that the brand is very proud of. They are labeled as being vegan and cruelty-free on the Smarties website, which allows customers to satisfy their sweet tooth regardless of whether they altered their diet for the sake of their health, the environment, or the animals.

RUNNER UP

Airheads

Were you truly a genuine child of the ’90s if you didn’t eat airheads on a near daily basis? These classic sweets do not contain any animal products, so even as an adult, you may indulge in all of your favorite tastes, from watermelon to blue raspberry. 

Just stay away from Airheads Bites since they have gelatin, shellac, and beeswax in them, which are all substances that come from animals. 

RUNNER UP

Bottle Caps

It doesn’t matter if you preferred the orange taste or the root beer flavor when you were younger; Bottle Caps remain a timeless staple of the candy aisle. 

No matter which Bottle Cap flavor you love the most, you may relax knowing that you can still indulge in the delicious snack today as they are completely safe for vegans to eat.

RUNNER UP

Runts

The candy vending machine Runts became popular in the 1980s. The iconic fruit-shaped candy is still absolutely irresistible, thanks to the many flavors that have been introduced throughout the last few years. What’s more, it’s completely free of any animal products.

RUNNER UP

Atomic FireBall

Do you enjoy hot and fiery flavors? If this is the case, you most likely enjoy Atomic FireBalls. Candies with a cinnamon flavor will light a fire in your mouth in the best possible way. These jawbreakers come in a vibrant shade of red and are suitable for vegans.

RUNNER UP

Blow Pops

Blow Pops are the finest candy deal since you get two flavors in one package. You start with sugary candy, and when you’ve finished eating it, you get some gum to chew on. 

Blow Pops, in contrast to the similar candy Tootsie Roll pops, do not contain any animal products, so you can easily stock up on them and have them on hand for when you get a need for something sweet.

RUNNER UP

Grape Nerds

Grape is the only flavor of Nerds that are guaranteed to be vegan-friendly. This is because the majority of Nerds flavors aren’t vegan-friendly owing to the presence of red or pink pigments in the mixture that includes carmine. Grape nerds are a little more difficult to find in shops, but they are readily available for purchase on Amazon.com.

RUNNER UP

Twizzlers

Twizzlers are always there to help you out if you’re looking for some vegan sweets at a gas station or a movie theater since they’re always available. 

Every single version of Twizzlers can be safely chosen as a munchable option, regardless of whether you go for the classic strawberry taste, the packed bits, or the colorful twists. With so many vegan flavors to choose from, you and your taste buds will never get bored of this candy. 

RUNNER UP

Jolly Rancher

You won’t need to look much further than a bag of Jolly Ranchers the next time you’re in the mood for something sugary to chew on. 

Both the Jolly Rancher lollipops and the hard candies are vegan-friendly. This means that you may enjoy the vast choice of robust fruity tastes, like watermelon and green apple, without the fear of consuming any animal products.

RUNNER UP

Mamba

Although Starburst candies are not considered vegan due to the presence of gelatin, there is a product that is quite similar to them that does not include any components derived from animals. 

When you purchase a package of Mambas, you will receive 18 treats that have the flavor and texture of various fruits and are pleasantly chewy. In addition, you have the option of choosing from one of three distinct varieties: original, sour, or tropical.

RUNNER UP

Pixy Stix

Grab some Pixy Stix if you want to experience the ultimate sugar high in a cruelty-free and plant-based way. There are no animal byproducts in the candy straws, which have a flavored powder inside of them and are meant to be poured straight into the mouth of the consumer.

RUNNER UP

SweeTARTS

You’ll be pleased to learn that the Original recipe for SweeTARTS contains no animal products, regardless of whether you purchase them in the shape of hearts or a tube. 

Just make sure to steer clear of the other flavors, such as the Mini Chewy SweeTARTS, the SweeTARTS Rope Bites, and the SweeTARTS Soft & Chewy Cherry Punch Ropes, as they are not suitable for vegans because of the use of non-vegan components such as gelatin and eggs.

RUNNER UP

Swedish Fish

Gummy candies usually typically include gelatin, which makes them impossible to eat when following a vegan diet. 

However, this time-honored classic that has been around since the 50s does not contain any animal products, making them a pretty rare find if you love gummy candies. 

RUNNER UP

Sour Patch Kids

They start sour and then turn sweet, but they never include any animal products of any kind. Even though the sweets have a gummy consistency, gelatin is not included in the list of ingredients. Instead, it consists mostly of a large quantity of sugar, corn syrup, and corn starch. 

Not only are the Original flavors vegan, but so is the watermelon variant, so you can safely eat both if you are craving something sour. 

RUNNER UP

Everlasting Gobstoppers

Everlasting Gobstoppers are likely quite recognizable to anyone who is a fan of Willy Wonka. The movie Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory is credited with introducing the world to a sweet that can transform both in color and flavor. 

Although they have been around for many years, these candies are so popular that you can still easily find them in most stores.

Conclusion

With so many vegan candies available, you are spoilt for choice when you are craving something sweet. Choose any one of these candies the next time you need a bit of a pick-me-up after a long day!

Brandon White
Latest posts by Brandon White (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *