Is Hummus Vegan?

Is Hummus Vegan?

Yes, classic hummus is vegan; there are just a few instances in which this delectable food is not vegan due to the addition of other ingredients.

Roasted chickpeas, lemon juice, olive oil, spices, and tahini—a straightforward Middle Eastern condiment derived from ground, toasted sesame—are blended or mashed to create the dip or spread known as hummus. 

Animal products are often absent from traditional hummus, which typically only contains vegan components. However, certain taste combinations may include certain non-vegan ingredients.

The availability of alternative hummus variants is increasing, particularly those that contain red bell pepper, white beans, roasted garlic, black olives, and many other plant-based ingredients. 

Even better, the dip tastes wonderful when added to salads as well as vegan-friendly meals and snacks including raw vegetables, wraps, sandwiches, and more.

Even though hummus by itself is almost always vegan, there are several things to watch out for in non-traditional versions.

Due to their high concentrations of plant-based minerals and proteins, tahini and chickpeas are favourites among vegans and vegetarians.

Studies reveal that as compared to non-consumers, those who eat chickpeas and/or hummus ingest more dietary fibre, poly unsaturated fats, vitamin C, vitamin E, vitamin A, folate, potassium, magnesium, and iron.

This article will discuss hummus, what makes it vegan, what types of hummus are not suitable for vegans, and why you should consider adding it to your diet (whether you’re vegan or not!). 

Why Most Hummus Is Vegan

Chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, olive oil, salt, and occasionally garlic are all naturally vegan foods that are commonly used to make hummus. 

However, several companies and chefs are experimenting with more distinctive variants of traditional hummus as a result of the success of hummus growing in food stores and on restaurant menus – though the majority of these are also vegan.

Some well-known companies, like Hope Hummus, go out of their way to guarantee that each and every one of their products is vegan and hasn’t been prepared with any animal components. You may confirm that your hummus is vegan by quickly looking over the ingredients list.

When Is Hummus Not Vegan?

Some hummus brands, whether homemade or purchased from a store, may contain dairy items like cheese or yogurt, however this is quite uncommon. As an illustration, some companies might covertly add parmesan cheese to a pesto-flavored hummus.

Another typical ingredient that could show up in store-bought hummus recipes is sugar. Many vegans find the bone char filtering procedure used to purify cane sugar to be incompatible with how they prefer to eat.

Hummus with natural flavors mentioned as an ingredient may be a sign of items that aren’t suitable for vegans or vegetarians, such as those with dairy, egg, meat, fish, or poultry-based flavors.

In this instance, check for a “vegan” label on the hummus. One of the most popular hummus brands that can be purchased in grocery shops is Sabra, for instance. 

The business makes it simple for customers to examine the package and determine whether the exact type is vegan by designating a portion of its hummus tastes as vegan and others as merely vegetarian. 

Classic, Lemon Twist, and Olive Tapenade are some popular vegan Sabra varieties. Greek-inspired and taco-inspired tastes are examples of non-vegan flavors (both include natural flavors and non-organic sugar).

Is Hummus Vegan?

How Can You Tell If Your Hummus Is Vegan?

Although hummus is typically vegan and the majority of businesses promote it as such, a select handful go a bit further and complete the requirements to obtain formal certification from a company like Vegan Action.

For instance, the complete line of hummus variations from Cedar’s Foods is vegan-friendly. Similar to Delighted By, Promus only sells hummus variations that are vegan-certified (dessert hummus kits). You can look up further brands in the database of Vegan.org.

A surefire approach to ensure that the sweet component in the hummus you’re keen on tasting was not cooked with bone char is to search for a “certified organic” label. According to USDA standards, bone char cannot be used to filter sugar that has received an organic certification.

Is Hummus Environmentally Friendly?

Both the planet and your health may benefit from hummus. Chickpeas are a type of pulse, which is a type of edible seed which grows in a pod and is a member of the legume family, together with lentils, beans, and peas. 

It has been demonstrated that pulses, which fix their own supply of nitrogen from the environment and enrich the soil with nutrients, play a vital role in crop rotation.

Does Hummus Go Bad?

After being opened, most hummus keeps for approximately one week in the refrigerator, but it’s always a good idea to read the label for exact storage instructions.

Does Hummus Contain Gluten?

Some hummus purchased from the supermarket may be cross-contaminated or utilize preservatives/filler substances that aren’t deemed gluten free, however – hummus made using traditional ingredients ought to be naturally gluten free.

Does Hummus Contain Dairy?

Hummus is a great option for persons with specific allergies and intolerances because it is naturally devoid of gluten, dairy, and nuts.

It is appropriate for those who suffer from common ailments like lactose intolerance, nut allergies, and celiac disease.

Hummus naturally lacks these elements, but it’s still a good idea to study the entire ingredient list because some brands may also have preservatives or other additives.

Conclusion

One vegan staple that gives your diet some flexibility is hummus. You might have discovered a new favorite food for yourself as it is a vegan food that is really popular. It comes in a huge range of different flavors and is quite adaptable in the kitchen. 

We cannot promise that every batch of hummus prepared by a chef, restaurant, or grocery store will be vegan. In the vast majority of cases hummus is vegan, but you should always ask or read the label to be sure.

Brandon White
Latest posts by Brandon White (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *