Is Sorbet Vegan?

Is Sorbet Vegan

Have you been looking for a new dessert and want to know if sorbet is vegan? Maybe you want to wow your friends with some fantastic sorbet but aren’t sure if your vegan pals can eat it?

Or are you curious and want to know more? No matter the reason that brought you here, we have the answer for you!

Finding out if sorbet is vegan or not can be tricky. You head online but are met with conflicting and contradicting advice that leaves you unsure where to turn or who to trust.

The last thing you want is to eat something that isn’t vegan or serve non-vegan food to guests! You start to wonder if you will ever find out if sorbet is vegan. 

Well, no more! Today we are here with the answers you need. Keep reading to see if sorbet is vegan and everything you need to know about this delicious frozen dessert! 

Is Sorbet Vegan?

Let’s get straight into it! Nine times out of ten, sorbet is vegan! This is fantastic news for vegans that love a frozen dessert after dinner or are looking for a refreshing palate cleanser to serve after a curry or spicy dish. 

Traditionally, sorbet was used in the near and Middle East where the frozen dessert was made with fruit and flower petals, known as sharbat. Modern sorbet that we know and love is fairly similar to this but without flower petals. 

In most cases, the sorbet you make at home or purchase in stores will be vegan! We do recommend that you check the label before making your purchase, just in case!

If you have any allergies be sure to check the label to ensure there is no chance of cross-contamination with allergens too. 

What Is Sorbet Made Of? 

What Is Sorbet Made Of 

Now that we have established sorbet is often vegan, you are sure to be wondering what it is made from! Typically, sorbet contains water, sugar, and a blend of frozen fruit! All of these ingredients are of course vegan! 

When you make sorbet at home, you will likely use these ingredients to make your sorbet. But store-bought sorbet might have some extra ingredients like additives that might not be vegan. 

Don’t worry, we have a list of all the possible ingredients store-bought sorbet might have, and have highlighted which ones are not vegan for you to look out for! Check out the list below. 

  • Artificial coloring 
  • Artificial flavor 
  • Fruit juice 
  • Fruit puree
  • High-fructose corn syrup 
  • Honey (not suitable for vegans)
  • Mono- and diglycerides (not suitable for vegans)
  • Natural coloring (not always suitable for vegans)
  • Natural flavor (not always suitable for vegans)
  • Other preservatives and emulsifiers
  • Sugar 
  • Water 

Is There Dairy In Sorbet? 

In some cases, dairy can be added to sorbet. Although it isn’t often used, it can be added to add creaminess to sorbet.

You might find milk, cream, or egg whites in your sorbet to add a creamy taste and texture, or to thicken the sorbet. 

Thankfully, these ingredients will be listed on the sorbet, so you can quickly see if it is suitable for a vegan diet or not!

If you are having sorbet at a restaurant, be sure to double-check with the server that the sorbet is vegan. These days, menus clearly label what dishes are vegan, but if in doubt, it is always better to double-check! 

If you have any allergies to dairy, it is best to check with the manager too. They can assist you and let you know if there is any risk of cross-contamination before placing your order.

While it is rare to find dairy in sorbet, especially traditional sorbet, it is always worth checking the label to ensure it is free of dairy before you place your order! 

How To Make Vegan Sorbet

Making vegan sorbet is super easy and is the perfect way to end a dinner party! You can follow our recipe below to see how you can make it today. 

What You Need

  • A pinch of salt 
  • 1 ½ teaspoon of cold water
  • 1 ½ teaspoon of cornstarch 
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon or lime juice 
  • ½ cup of sugar 
  • 3 cups of sliced ripe fruit

How To Make Sorbet 

  1. Puree your fruit until smooth in a food processor. 
  2. Combine the puree with sugar and salt and place in a large saucepan over medium heat. Stir until the mixture is hot, but not boiling. 
  3. Separately, whisk your cold water and cornstarch together. Once whisked, add this to your heated puree. 
  4. Add your lemon or lime juice. 
  5. Refrigerate mixture for two hours. 
  6. To finish, freeze in the ice cream maker following the manufacturer’s instructions. If you don’t have an ice cream maker, place your sorbet in a shallow dish in the freezer. Stir it every 30 minutes until it reaches your desired consistency. 

Conclusion

And there you have it, not only is sorbet vegan, but it is super accessible and easy to make! When purchasing sorbet, be sure to double-check the ingredients list to keep an eye out for any pesky non-vegan ingredients.

Brandon White
Latest posts by Brandon White (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *