Are Bagels Vegan?

Share on:

While bread is one of the baked goods we all enjoy eating, the war on carbs and the restrictions on some diets have led many people to avoid it and any of its varieties.

The collateral damages have led many people to refrain from eating bagels as well, but when it comes to a vegan diet are bagels safe to eat?

Are they vegan? In this article, we will answer that question and help you with determining which bagels are the best for a vegan diet.

Are Bagels Vegan?

If you are a newly converted vegan who loves bagels, we have some great news for you.

Bagels, or at least many of them, are vegan, so you can keep enjoying them without feeling any guilt.

What Are The Ingredients Of Bagels?

A classic and simple bagel recipe would have, more or less, the same ingredients as a bread recipe.

Those would be flour, yeast, salt, water, and usually some sugar too.

That might sound weird as bagels have a unique texture and shape that distinguishes them from a loaf of bread, but it is the truth.

However, when it comes to mass production and the products we typically buy in a supermarket, this classic and simple recipe might change to include some additives or other ingredients that can enhance the flavor of the bagel.

Those ingredients may or may not be vegan, so that is why it’s best to check for any vegan-certified labels or have a look at the ingredients list before purchasing any.

When Are Bagels Not Vegan?

As we said, some bagels might be made with ingredients that are not suitable for a vegan diet, some examples of which are:

  • Eggs, which might be added to the dough or be used as glazing before baking them
  • Milk, which can sometimes substitute for water to make the dough creamier and tastier
  • Honey, which can sometimes substitute sugar.
  • L-cysteine, which is an amino acid that helps soften the dough. L-cysteine is often a human hair or poultry feather derivative, so unless stated otherwise, avoid any bagels that contain it.

Which Bagel Fillings Are Not Vegan?

Of course, once you’ve ensured that your bagel is vegan, you need to make sure that all the fillings are too.

While most vegans know pretty well what to and what not to eat on a vegan diet, let’s see some examples of things you certainly cannot add or eat inside a bagel.

  • Meat and deli cuts such as beef, turkey, chicken, pastrami, and so on
  • Fish like tuna and seafood like calamari
  • Eggs and any sauce that is made with them, hollandaise and mayo being two great examples
  • Dairy products like yogurt, feta cheese, cheddar cheese, cream cheese, and any single, double, or whipped cream
  • Jam that is made with non-vegan gelatin or has any non-vegan color additives (for this, you will need to check the jar or with whoever made the jam if it is a homemade one)
  • Honey, as it is made from bees
  • Butter that is not plant-based
  • Chocolate spreads that have milk or other non-vegan ingredients in them

As you can understand, any products derived from animals or made by animals are a no.

How To Make Your Own Vegan Homemade Bagels?

As with everything, homemade food is always the best option to make sure that you know what goes into your body.

Even if you are not good in the kitchen, making simple baked goods like bread, bagels or cookies is much easier than you think, and it will only take you a few minutes before you see them rising in the oven.

So, to make your own vegan bagels, here is what you can do:

  • In a mixing bowl, add some yeast, sugar, and warm water and let it rest until the water becomes foamy.
  • Start making the dough and keep kneading it until smooth and stretchy, and then, let it double in size.
  • After that, all you have to do is divide the dough, shape the bagels, and cook them according to instructions.

Here is an easy step-by-step recipe you can use for some delicious homemade vegan bagels!


People who are new to the vegan world are always relieved to know that many store-bought bagels are vegan and that they can make easy, tasty vegan bagels at home.

And, with so many vegan products (either natural or artificial like vegan cheese) you can easily enjoy vegan bagels without compromising on the taste!

Share on:
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top