Are Pop Tarts Vegan?

Are Pop Tarts Vegan

Have you recently gone vegan and aren’t sure what to eat for breakfast? Maybe your favorite was Pop Tarts and you want to know if they are vegan or not? Then you have come to the right place! 

Figuring out if Pop-Tarts are vegan or not can be tricky. All the answers online seem to contradict each other, leaving you feeling frustrated, overwhelmed, and unsure where to turn or who to trust.

After all, the last thing you want to do is eat something that isn’t vegan! Well, no more! Today we are here with the answers you need. Keep reading to find out if Pop-Tarts are vegan or not and everything you need to know about your favorite breakfast!

Well, no more! Today we are here with the answers you need. Keep reading to find out if Pop-Tarts are vegan or not and everything you need to know about your favorite breakfast!

Are Pop Tarts Vegan?

Unfortunately, most Pop-Tart flavors are not vegan as they have milk and other non-vegan ingredients in them. Some Pop-Tart flavors could potentially be vegan, but they are not clearly labeled as vegan. 

Some vegans will take this as a sign that they are vegan and will enjoy some Pop-Tarts, but as there is a level of uncertainty around some of the ingredients, it is tricky to give a simple answer to this question!

We know that is not the answer you wanted to hear today. We will walk you through the potentially vegan Pop Tarts today for you to decide whether you feel comfortable eating them or not.

Remember, you should eat what you feel comfortable with as a vegan! Don’t let other people’s opinions of veganism sway you, do what is right for you. 

What Pop Tarts Aren’t Vegan?

Frosted Pop-Tarts are not vegan due to the gelatin used in them. Gelatin is made with animal bones, skin, and joints that have been boiled.

This mixture is typically used in jello and Pop Tarts are used to stick the frosting to the Pop Tarts. Several Pop Tart flavors also include milk, eggs, carmine (red food dye made from crushed beetles), and confectioners glaze which features lac beetle excretions, sometimes known as shellac. These ingredients are clearly non-vegan and you should avoid any Pop Tarts that feature these! 

We have a list below of all the non-vegan Pop tarts, so you know which ones you should avoid (and why). 

  • Frosted Blueberry (contains gelatin)
  • Frosted Brown Sugar Cinnamon (contains gelatin)
  • Frosted Cherry (contains gelatin and confectioner’s glaze)
  • Frosted Chocolate Chip (contains egg and milk)
  • Frosted Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough (contains egg, gelatin, and milk)
  • Frosted Chocolatey Churro (contains gelatin)
  • Frosted Chocolate Cupcake (contains egg, gelatin, and milk)
  • Frosted Chocolate Fudge (contains egg, gelatin, and milk)
  • Frosted Cinnamon Roll (contains gelatin)
  • Frosted Cookies & Creme (contains egg, gelatin, and milk)
  • Frosted Hot Fudge sundae (contains gelatin)
  • Frosted Raspberry (contains gelatin)
  • Frosted Red Velvet Cupcake (contains gelatin and milk)
  • Frosted S’Mores (contains egg, gelatin, and milk)
  • Frosted Strawberry (contains gelatin)
  • Frosted Strawberry Milkshake (contains gelatin)
  • Frosted Wild Berry (contains carmine and gelatin)
  • Froot Loops Pop Tarts (contains gelatin)
  • Pretzel Chocolate (contains gelatin and milk)
  • Pretzel Cinnamon Sugar (contains gelatin and milk)
  • Simply Frosted Harvest Strawberry (contains gelatin)
  • Simply Frosted Orchard Apple Cinnamon (contains gelatin)

What Pop Tarts Are Vegan?

What Pop Tarts Are Vegan

Now that we have seen the extensive list, you are sure to be wondering what Pop Tarts you can have! There are three flavors considered to be vegan as they don’t contain any animal products: 

  • Unfrosted Blueberry 
  • Unfrosted Brown Sugar Cinnamon 
  • Unfrosted Strawberry 

Although these Pop-Tarts are suitable to eat, they are not labeled as vegan.

This is down to some gray area ingredients that strict vegans do not eat. You should look at these ingredients carefully and decide for yourself if you wish to eat them or not! 

Sugar 

Sugar is often filtered with bone char to make it whiter. Bone char is charred animal bones and is not considered vegan.

Refined sugar, confectioner’s sugar, and non-organic sugar cane are often filtered with bone char. Consider whether you want to avoid this or eat it as part of your vegan diet. 

Natural Flavors 

Natural flavor is a generic term that can mask animal-based flavors or ingredients used in food. These days, brands will label if these natural flavors are milk-derived, making it easier for vegans to know whether to avoid them or not. 

Artificial Colors

Some artificial colors are still tested on animals, which is why vegans try to avoid them. It’s worth researching artificial colors that brands use before deciding whether you want to purchase their product or not. 

Palm Oil

Palm oil is used in all three Pop-Tart flavors we mentioned earlier. Palm oil is frequently boycotted by vegans as the farming of palm oil is detrimental to orangutans, tigers, and other animals in their habitats. 

The Palm oil used in these Pop Tarts is sustainably sourced, but be sure to consider carefully if you want to consume Palm oil before making your purchase. 

Conclusion

Sadly, not all Pop-Tarts are vegan! You can enjoy three unfrosted flavors of Pop-tarts, but be sure to consider all the ingredients used and whether you count them as vegan or not before making your purchase.

Brandon White
Latest posts by Brandon White (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *