Is Cool Whip Vegan?

Is Cool Whip Vegan (1)

Cool Whip is perhaps the most popular dessert topping in the US.

It has been around since the 1980s and was introduced as a substitute for fresh whipped cream which melts over time. But is Cool Whip vegan? 

Let’s take a look at the ingredients and find out what is in Cool Whip. 

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Cool Whip

Unfortunately Cool Whip is not vegan as it contains dairy products.

There are many different varieties of Cool Whip available in different formats including aerosol, but they all have milk, cream or both listed in their ingredients.

The most common non-vegan ingredients in regular Cool Whip are:

  • Skim milk
  • Cream
  • Sodium caseinate 

Sodium caseinate is a compound that comes from casein, a protein found in the milk of mammals. It is the dominant protein found in cow’s milk. 

Some flavors of Cool Whip such as Brownie also contain eggs in their ingredients.

Other Non-Vegan Whipped Cream

Cool Whip is not the only whipped cream dessert that is not vegan. Reddi Wip and Dream Whip also fail the vegan test. 

Reddi Wip Dairy

Reddi Wip contains cream and non-fat milk in its ingredients and so it is not suitable for vegans. It does make two non-dairy versions of Reddi Wip, however.

These are Non-dairy Coconut and Non-dairy Almond, both of which are vegan. 

Dream Whip

Although Dream Whip does not list milk or cream among its ingredients it does have sodium caseinate which is derived from the milk protein casein. 

Vegan Alternatives To Cool Whip

Is Cool Whip Vegan?

So while vegans can’t eat Cool Whip, what are the alternatives that are vegan friendly? Well there are quite a few, and we have listed 5 of them right here. 

So Delicious Cocowhip

So Delicious Cocowhip is a great alternative to Cool Whip and completely vegan friendly. 

All So Delicious Dairy Free products are certified by Vegan Action, so you know that they contain no animal products and are not tested on animals. 

Many of their products are organic and non GMO with all of their products subject to third party validation systems for transparency. 

So Delicious Cocowhip is: 

  • Vegan
  • Dairy free
  • Non GMO
  • Organic

It can be used with and on lots of different desserts as well as in beverages. 

Silk Dairy-Free Heavy Whipping Cream Alternative

Silk’s alternative to Cool Whip is 100% vegan as well as 100% dairy free with zero animal products in its ingredients. 

It is also free of gluten and contains no carrageenan which some people prefer to avoid eating.

There are no artificial flavors or colors in this whipping cream alternative either. 

  • Dairy free
  • Gluten free
  • No carrageenan
  • No artificial flavors or colors

The wonderful thing about Silk’s Dairy Free Heavy Whipping Cream Alternative is that it is not just for use on or with desserts. It can be added to lots of different dishes including sauces and soups. 

Gay Lea Coconut Whipped Topping

Gay Lea’s Coconut Whipped Topping is absolutely 100% vegan friendly and is made from coconut cream. Not only that but it is also:

  • Lactose free
  • Dairy free
  • Gluten free
  • Cholesterol free
  • Certified vegan
  • Certified non GMO

This alternative does contain carrageenan and nitrous oxide however which some people have concerns about. 

365 Oat-Based Whipped Topping

A Cool Whip alternative by Whole Foods Market which is the first oat based dairy free whipped cream.

Available as an aerosol propelled by nitrous oxide this whipped topping is:

  • Vegan
  • Dairy free
  • Gluten free
  • Coconut free
  • Low sodium
  • Keto friendly

This dessert topping is a great low calorie alternative to Cool Whip with just 5 calories per tablespoon.

Maybe not just for vegans but those of us looking to watch our weight without sacrificing tasty treats. 

Truwhip Vegan Plant-Based Whipped Topping

This plant based whipped topping is an alternative to Cool Whip and most definitely 100% vegan. It comes frozen, and you have to thaw it in the refrigerator for 4 hours before use. 

This product should not be thawed out on the counter. It also cannot be refrozen once it has thawed.

It contains no animal products and is 

  • Dairy free. 
  • Contains no artificial colors or flavors
  • No high fructose corn syrup
  • Non GMO

This dessert topping does contain soy however so is not suitable for those with a soy allergy. 

Final Thoughts

Although Cool Whip is not vegan there are plenty of alternatives which are made with a variety of ingredients, so there is something for everyone. And no one needs to miss out on dessert.

Brandon White
Latest posts by Brandon White (see all)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *